Route 26, Oxford, ME 
Phone: (207) 539-8865 


Oxford Championship Series Motorcycle Safety Night
Friday, May 17, 2013

Ripley & Fletcher Ford Outlaw Sportsman

Pos. No. Name
1 26 Corey Morgan
2 5 Guy Childs
3 51 Kyle Hewins
4 44 Kyle Treadwell
5 19 Steve Moon
6 71 Fred Clavet
7 77 David Vaughn
8 38 Addison Bowie
9 14 Scott Hethcoat
10 7 Chris Burgess
11 97 Shannon Judd
12 28 Josh Toothaker
13 99 George Haskell
14 23 John White
15 10 Scott Ellis
16 6 Todd Bisbee
17 39 Jerry Freve
18 21 Rachel Dubois
19 67 Mike Haynes

Lap leaders: Moon 1-7, Morgan 8-18, Childs 19-20, Morgan 21-25
Cautions: None

Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Mini Stock

Pos. No. Name
1 18 Justin Larsen ( R )
2 2 Rob Greenleaf
3 8 Calvin Rose, Jr.
4 19 Shane Kaherl
5 06 Ryan Glover ( R )
6 4 Nik Coates
7 83 Brady Romano ( R )
8 16 Mike Ward ( R )
9 29 Brandon Palmer
10 10 Jimmy Childs

Lap leaders: Romano 1, Larsen 2-30
Cautions: 1 (Lap 7)

Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock

Pos. No. Name
1 69 Tyson Jordan
2 36 Rick Spaulding
3 12 Skip Tripp
4 58 David Whittier ( R )
5 34 Spencer Morse
6 23 Zach Emerson
7 9 Ryan Robbins
8 55 Kurt Hewins
9 63 Matt Williams
10 3 Josh Childs ( R )
11 1 Billy Childs, Jr.
12 5 Ryan Hewins
13 8 Keith Stuart
14 26 Corey Morgan
15 08 Robbie Wentworth
16 96 Matt Dufault ( R )
17 83 Dan Brown ( R )
18 60 Richard Wentworth
19 7 Mike St. Germain
20 28 Mark Lundblad
21 04 Zach Bowie
22 77 Richard Mains

Lap leaders: Mains 1-10, Spaulding 11-29, Jordan 30
Cautions: 1 (Lap 5)

Pro Late Model

Pos. No. Name
1 70 Tommy Stilphen ( R )
2 94 Shawn Martin
3 61 T.J. Brackett
4 68 Dale Shaw
5 23 Dave Farrington, Jr.
6 21 Kevin Douglass
7 60 Tim Brackett
8 3 Vanna Brackett
9 22 Scott Farrington ( R )
10 73 Adam Polvinen
11 72 Chris Coolidge
12 0 Bill Penfold
13 71 Gary Chiasson
14 6 Tommy Ricker
15 18 Thom Bell
16 63 Don Wentworth

Lap leaders: V. Brackett 1, Bell 2-3, Coolidge 4-38, Stilphen 39-40
Cautions: None

Rookie Tommy Stilphen Now Youngest-Ever Top Class Winner At Oxford Plains Speedway

14-year-old claims Pro Late Model honors in first night racing program of 2013 OPS season

Oxford, Maine – Tommy Stilphen of Arundel became the youngest Oxford Championship Series race winner ever, posting his first career Oxford Plains Speedway main event victory in the 40-lap Pro Late Model feature Friday night.

Tyson Jordan of Poland, Justin Larsen of Peru and Corey Morgan of Lewiston also scored main event victories in the first night race of the 2013 season at the historic Maine speedplant.

Stilphen, a 14-year-old rookie, just beat multi-time track champion Shawn Martin of Turner to the checkered flag after race-long leader Chris Coolidge suffered handling issues after building a huge lead, allowing Stilphen, Martin and the rest of the frontrunners to close in quickly as he attempted to negotiate lapped traffic.

“That’s the hardest I’ve ever driven in my life,” the youngster said in victory lane. “This is awesome. I’d like to thank my grandfather, Billy (Stilphen), and Corey and Trevor Sanborn for all of their help.”

Lapped traffic played a role in the outcome of the event, as Martin chased Stilphen through slower traffic during the last couple of laps. A three-wide move earlier in the event set Stiphen up to be in position to capitalize on the misfortune of Norway’s Coolidge, who looked like a sure winner until the event’s final five laps.

Martin’s bid for a second straight win came up just short, and he settled for runner-up honors. TJ Brackett of Buckfield, the current leader in the OPS Pro Late Model championship point standings, claimed a third-place finish. Opening Day winner Dale Shaw of Center Conway, New Hampshire and Jay’s Dave Farrington, Jr. rounded out the top five.

Tyson Jordan of Poland made a last-lap charge around Lewiston racer Rick Spaulding to claim victory in a thrilling 30-lap feature race for the Street Stock division, after Spaulding had made an impressive early drive from 14th starting position, going three-wide on the outside on more than one occasion en route to the front of the pack.

Jordan, boxed in traffic as Spaulding romped to the top spot, had to make his bid as time was running out, and had about two feet to spare as he raced under the checkered flag. Spaulding was disappointed with his close runner-up finish, while Skip Tripp ran just a bit short on time in his incredible run from 22nd starting position to nail down the third-place trophy. David Whittier of Poland and Waterford’s Spencer Morse rounded out the top five.

Mini Stock rookie Justin Larsen of Peru left no doubt as to who was in charge his 30-lap main event, dominating the event as no one else had, to date, this season at the famed Route 26 oval. Despite Larsen’s dominance, the race was quite entertaining, with top-five running positions swapped on just about every laps.

Opening Day Mini Stock victor Rob Greenleaf of West Bath prevailed in a five-way battle for runner-up honors. Calvin Rose, Jr., of Turner, held on to his early-season lead in the championship standings with a third straight podium finish. Shane Kaherl of Jay and Rumford’s Ryan Glover rounded out the top-five in the Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy-sponsored, four-cylinder-powered class.

Corey Morgan of Lewiston prevailed for the second time this season in the 25-lap Outlaw Sportsman main event, and stands as the lone racer with more than one feature event triumph through three weekly Oxford Championship Series programs.

Morgan lined up 13th on the starting grid and charged toward the front of the pack, eventually going by the driver who led more laps than anyone, Steve Moon of Gray, en route to victory lane.

Guy Childs of Turner made sure the outcome was in doubt for several laps, racing side-by-side with the eventual winner before settling for runner-up honors in front of Kyle Hewins of Leeds. Auburn’s Kyle Treadwell just missed out on a trophy spot after an aggressive run amongst the frontrunners. Early pacesetter moon rounded out the top five.

Pro Late Model
3rd T.J. Brackett, 1st Tommy Stilphen, 2nd Shawn Martin

Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock
3rd Skip Tripp, 1st Tyson Jordan, 2nd Rick Spaulding

Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Mini Stock
3rd Calvin Rose, Jr., 1st Justin Larsen, 2nd Rob Greenleaf

Ripley & Fletcher Ford Outlaw Sportsman
3rd Kyle Hewins, 1st Corey Morgan, 2nd Guy Childs