|  HOME Schedule / Race Results  Online Shop  Links  |
Track Info
  Camping Policy  Contacts  Privacy Policy  |

Route 26, Oxford, ME  Phone: (207) 539-8865 
Championship Series  |   Acceleration Series  |  Monster Trucks  |
Motor Mayhem  |  Rule Book  |  Track Facts  |  Oxford 250  |
BUDWEISER Oxford Championship Series
SLMs, Street Stocks, Bandits, Figure 8s, & Rookies
Veteran Racer Tracy Gordon Is Saturday
Super Late Model Winner
Oxford, Maine - Tracy Gordon of Strong earned his second Super Late Model victory of the year Saturday night in Budweiser Championship Series competition at Oxford Plains Speedway. The 52-year-old veteran, and recent winner of the Pro All Stars Series 'Open' 100-lapper, drove around Ellsworth's Andy Saunders about halfway through the 50-lap test, then held off four-time track champion Timmy Brackett of Buckfield to claim the top step on the victory lane podium.

Saunders, while running in third position with only four laps remaining in the race, had an unfortunate encounter with slower traffic and failed to finish the race after setting the event's pace over the first half of the distance. Brackett, unveiling a new ride as the season hits the homestretch, crossed the finish line in second position after turning in very quick lap times all evening.

15-year-old Gabe Brown of Center Conway, New Hampshire joined the two AARP-eligible racers on the podium, reclaiming the lead in the season-long Budweiser Championship Series Super Late Model standings with his third-place finish. Multi-time OPS Late Model champion Shawn Martin of Turner and Connecticut invader Ray Christian III of Uncasville rounded out the top five.

Billy Childs, Jr. of Leeds got a late start to his racing season but has been the man to beat ever since in Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock competition. Childs, the 2017 track champion in the class, claimed his third victory in just four starts, charging past the race's early leader, Jordan Russell of Norway.

Another occasional entrant from Leeds, Ryan Hewins, hugged the curb for most of the 30-lap race to earn the runner-up trophy. Turner's Matt Dufault stayed atop the championship standings with a third-place run, again passing several cars in three-wide fashion in a charge from the back of the starting grid. Early leader Russell hung on to post a fourth-place finish, just ahead of West Poland's David Whittier.

Kurt Hewins of Leeds led all the way in a 20-lap main event for the Bandits class, but it was close all the way through the 20-lap race, with Oxford's Jake Hall keeping things interesting until the checkered flag waved. Hewins became the tenth winner in ten Bandits races contested to date this season.

Hall was the best of the rest, with current championship points leader Dustin Salley of Poland crossing the line in third position after prevailing in a long battle versus Mike McKinney of Berlin, New Hampshire. Buckfield's Chad Wills rounded out the top five.

Dale Lawrence of Lisbon continued the best year of his long racing career with his fourth Figure 8 triumph of the season. Lawrence just held on for the victory, holding off a determined late challenge from five-time winner and points leader Kyle Kilgore of South Paris. Oxford's Kyle Glover led the first half of the 20-lap race en route to a third-place finish. Chachy Hall of Oxford and Poland's Larry Lizotte filled out the top-five rundown.

Brady Heath of Waterford drove to his first victory in the new Rookie Stock division after posting eight straight runner-up finishes. Owen Stuart of Naples was the second-place finisher in his first appearance, with Brady Childs of Leeds third across the finish line. Points leader Thomas Brackett cut a tire while making a bid for the race lead and was fourth in the final rundown.

The next event at Oxford Plains Speedway is a Pro all Stars Series Super Late Model special this afternoon (Sunday, July 29) with PASS Mods and the first round of the Bandits Triple Crown Series on tap.. Post time is 4:00 p.m. The Budweiser Championship Series continues Saturday night, August 4 at 7:00 p.m. The Oxford Acceleration Series is in action every Wednesday night through the end of August, with racing action beginning at 7:00 p.m. Oxford Plains Speedway is located at 877 Main Street, on State Route 26 in Oxford, Maine. For more information visit or call (207) 539-8865.

Unofficial results from the Saturday, July 28 Budweiser Championship Series racing card at Oxford Plains Speedway; Oxford, Maine; showing finishing position, car number, driver's name, driver's hometown:


Budweiser Super Late Model (50 laps) 1 41 Tracy Gordon, Strong; 2 60 Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 3 47 Gabe Brown, Center Conway, NH; 4 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 5 93 Ray Christian III, Uncasville, CT; 6 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 7 46 Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford; 8 72 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 9 54 Ryan Deane, Winterport; 10 13 Cassius Clark, Farmington; 11 11 Steve Chicoine, Portland; 12 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 13 29 Austin Teras, Gray; 14 9 Alan Tardiff, Goodwins Mills; 15 96 Wyatt Alexander, Ellsworth/Charlotte, NC; 16 47 Kelly Moore, Scarborough; 17 1 Evan Hallstrom, Northfield, VT; 18 23 Lonnie Sommerville, Barnesville, NB, Canada; 19 90 John-Michael Shenette, Concord, NC; 20 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield; 21 63 John Salemi, Nashua, NH; 22 77 Bryce Mains, Bridgton; 23 40 Nick Sweet, Barre, VT; 24 7 Scott MacMichael, New London, NH; 25 01 Andy Saunders, Ellsworth; 26 0 Scott Luce, Strong; 27 18 Wayne Parritt, Steuben.

Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps)
1 1 Billy Childs, Jr., Leeds; 2 5 Ryan Hewins, Oxford; 3 61 Matt Dufault, Turner; 4 4 Jordan Russell, Norway; 5 58 David Whittier, West Poland; 6 62 Nick Stanley, Oxford;7 36 Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 8 11 Tyler King, Gray; 9 33 Andrew Breton, Grene; 10 5 Guy Childs, Sr., Lewiston; 11 52 Mike Nichols, Livermore Falls; 12 56 Addie McDaniel, Bridgton; 13 99 George Haskell, Casco; 14 21 Zach Bowie, Greene; 15 27 Patrick Thorne, Standish.

Bandits (20 laps)
1 54 Kurt Hewins, Leeds; 2 5 Jake Hall, Oxford; 3 18 Dustin Salley, Poland; 4 08 Mike McKinney, Berlin, NH; 5 52 Chad Wills, Buckfield; 6 2 Shaun Hinkley, Oxford; 7 91 Jamie Heath, Waterford; 8 77 Rob Crepeau, Minot; 9 1 Brandon Varney, Mechanic Falls; 10 24 Travis Verrill, South Paris; 11 05 Gerard Cote, Oxford; 12 121 Adam Sanborn, West Paris; 13 8 Jeremy Lauzier, Rumford; 14 55 Dean Jordan, Jay; 15 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 16 42 Nick Ogden, Mechanic Falls; 17 1x Skip Tripp, Norway; 18 44 Jeff Libby, Auburn.

Figure 8 (20 laps)
1 2 Dale Lawrence, Lisbon; 2 4 Kyle Kilgore, South Paris; 3 07 Kyle Glover, Oxford; 4 3 Chachy Hall, Oxford; 5 00 Larry Lizotte, Poland; 6 41 Greg Durgin, South Paris; 7 40 Robert Morey, Lisbon.

Rookie (10 laps)
1 91 Brady Heath, Waterford, 2 8 Owen, Stuart, Naples; 3 1 Brady Childs, Leeds; 4 3 Thomas Brackett, Auburn.